how to De-brand Nokia N97
NokiaUsers.net is the premier Nokia Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 18 of 18
  1. #1
    Dedicated User Clarkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    UK-Stoke On Trent
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    how to De-brand Nokia N97

    is there any guide at the moment on here that there's a step by step guide on de-branding Nokia N97? i just get rid of the Vodafone firmware that is on here at the momment.



    sorry if its a question that has already been answered, just cant find a reliable source at the moment.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    NokiaUsers.net
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Moz
    Moz is offline
    Nokia Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Manchester, England
    Posts
    6,765
    Thanks
    1,907
    Thanked 2,380 Times in 1,432 Posts
    I think this seems to be the most comperhensive guide out there.

    Change product code on Nokia 5800 / Debrand Nokia 5800 ExpressMusic


    This method applies to the N97 also.

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to Moz For This Useful Post:

    Clarkey (08-05-2009)

  5. #3
    Nokia Guru
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    london
    Posts
    6,411
    Thanks
    2,911
    Thanked 2,556 Times in 1,617 Posts
    Debranding Nokia N97 (Vodafone)

    exactly what you want mate :-) its even a voda phone they do it too :-)

  6. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to buxz777 For This Useful Post:

    Clarkey (08-05-2009), robbo83 (08-02-2009)

  7. #4
    Moderator 93tid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    7,479
    Thanks
    276
    Thanked 2,977 Times in 2,342 Posts
    Latest NSS works on my 5800 for change of product code so I would guess it does on the N97 too, that makes the whole thing much easier and eliminates the need for the JAF Emulator if the replacement frimware is to be installed via NSU.
    "Remember that a lone amateur built the Ark. A large group of professionals built the Titanic."

    If you appreciate help from a member,then show it by clicking on the 'Thanks' button! - Sp00k

    My "backup" phone is a Constellation.

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to 93tid For This Useful Post:

    Clarkey (08-05-2009)

  9. #5
    Nokia Guru MohammadAG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Jerusalem, PS/IL
    Posts
    1,119
    Thanks
    299
    Thanked 527 Times in 336 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by 93tid View Post
    Latest NSS works on my 5800 for change of product code so I would guess it does on the N97 too, that makes the whole thing much easier and eliminates the need for the JAF Emulator if the replacement frimware is to be installed via NSU.
    The N97 would brick if you used NSU

  10. #6
    Moderator 93tid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    7,479
    Thanks
    276
    Thanked 2,977 Times in 2,342 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by MohammadAG View Post
    The N97 would brick if you used NSU
    And you can prove and "guarantee" that this will happen in 100% of the cases ?
    "Remember that a lone amateur built the Ark. A large group of professionals built the Titanic."

    If you appreciate help from a member,then show it by clicking on the 'Thanks' button! - Sp00k

    My "backup" phone is a Constellation.

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to 93tid For This Useful Post:

    Clarkey (08-05-2009)

  12. #7
    Nokia Guru MohammadAG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Jerusalem, PS/IL
    Posts
    1,119
    Thanks
    299
    Thanked 527 Times in 336 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by 93tid View Post
    And you can prove and "guarantee" that this will happen in 100% of the cases ?
    No but it JAF works all the time then why risk it?

  13. #8
    Moderator 93tid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    7,479
    Thanks
    276
    Thanked 2,977 Times in 2,342 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by MohammadAG View Post
    No but it JAF works all the time then why risk it?
    Then please do not make sweeping statements which you cannot substantiate. Now, if you had said that debranding from Vodafone to a Euro code via NSU almost always bricks the phone, then I would agree.

    JAF is more complicated to install and use, especially for newbies and is not 100% error-free either. At least if you screw something up you can try and fix it with JAF but again, it's for more advanced tinkerers.
    "Remember that a lone amateur built the Ark. A large group of professionals built the Titanic."

    If you appreciate help from a member,then show it by clicking on the 'Thanks' button! - Sp00k

    My "backup" phone is a Constellation.

  14. #9
    Dedicated User Clarkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    UK-Stoke On Trent
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    can this still be done if the firmware is on V11?

    and thanks for the replys so far guys.

  15. #10
    Moz
    Moz is offline
    Nokia Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Manchester, England
    Posts
    6,765
    Thanks
    1,907
    Thanked 2,380 Times in 1,432 Posts
    Yes mate, it can.

  16. #11
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi Guys,

    First post!!

    About the guide in link further above: (Debranding Nokia N97 (Vodafone))

    Can someone please help me?


    1. Does this only work on vodafone or does it work for T-Mobile UK handsets too? Should it make any difference? Anyone tried?

    2. The other thing is if I have a UK RM-505 T-Mobile based black Nokia N97, do I use the 0585162 product code or should I use the Euro one?

    and lastly

    3. Where you say 'where RM-505 is equal to the code that you retrieved in step 1' are you simply saying to ensure RM-505 matches the correct RM-xxx of the phone?

    Thankyou!

  17. #12
    Moderator 93tid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    7,479
    Thanks
    276
    Thanked 2,977 Times in 2,342 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tazzy76 View Post
    1. Does this only work on vodafone or does it work for T-Mobile UK handsets too? Should it make any difference? Anyone tried?
    It works regardless of network.

    Quote Originally Posted by tazzy76 View Post
    2. The other thing is if I have a UK RM-505 T-Mobile based black Nokia N97, do I use the 0585162 product code or should I use the Euro one?
    Up to you, makes no real difference to the phone, except that future updates might come up quicker for the EURO code.

    Quote Originally Posted by tazzy76 View Post
    3. Where you say 'where RM-505 is equal to the code that you retrieved in step 1' are you simply saying to ensure RM-505 matches the correct RM-xxx of the phone?
    You need to download the correct firmware, e.g. you cannot install firmware for RM-505 on a RM-507 nor vice-versa.
    Last edited by 93tid; 08-03-2009 at 10:09 AM.
    "Remember that a lone amateur built the Ark. A large group of professionals built the Titanic."

    If you appreciate help from a member,then show it by clicking on the 'Thanks' button! - Sp00k

    My "backup" phone is a Constellation.

  18. The Following User Says Thank You to 93tid For This Useful Post:

    Clarkey (08-05-2009)

  19. #13
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    93tid thankyou for such a speedy response.

    OK just this part to re-confirm.

    "You need to download the correct firmware, e.g. you cannot install firmware for RM-505 on a RM-505 nor vice-versa. "

    Hmm I would have expected you have to install an RM-505 based firmware for an RM-505 hardware? For example my Nokia is RM-505 so I was planning to use the below?

    RM-505_EMEA_EURO_QW1 Black (0570817)

    can you just re-confirm that part?

    Thanks again.

    -T

  20. #14
    Moderator 93tid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    7,479
    Thanks
    276
    Thanked 2,977 Times in 2,342 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tazzy76 View Post
    OK just this part to re-confirm.

    "You need to download the correct firmware, e.g. you cannot install firmware for RM-505 on a RM-507 nor vice-versa. "

    RM-505_EMEA_EURO_QW1 Black (0570817)

    can you just re-confirm that part?
    Sorry, I made a typo in my previous post, which I have now corrected.

    That code should be fine for you.

    Quote Originally Posted by tazzy76 View Post
    Thanks again.

    -T
    No problem, see my sig.
    "Remember that a lone amateur built the Ark. A large group of professionals built the Titanic."

    If you appreciate help from a member,then show it by clicking on the 'Thanks' button! - Sp00k

    My "backup" phone is a Constellation.

  21. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to 93tid For This Useful Post:

    Clarkey (08-05-2009), tazzy76 (08-03-2009), wisdomlight (01-23-2010)

  22. #15
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Got error when debranding n97 with JAF

    Hi there;
    I've actually followed all the tuto, but at some point on the flashing I've received this message " Warning Warning xxx could not backup IMEI" Continue or Cancel. Is that normal or I missed something?
    Thanks guys

  23. #16
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Montreal,QC
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    hey guys, i'm currently using RM-507 NAM which doesnt have the chinese input. Can someone tell me which firmware of RM-507 support chinese display/input? Thanks.

  24. #17
    Dedicated User
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    78
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
    Do i Need the Phoenix software to de brand my N97 or can i just use the guild on here without it and save the files on desktop???

    Please help

  25. #18
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Australia SA
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    hello fellas...

    I just joined as I have the same problem.

    I am trying to debrand my nokia N97 and followed step by step procedure using the JAF however it does not recognise my device and thus I can not debrand it.

    This is what I followed exactly however doesnt do nothing....

    Debranding Nokia N97 (Vodafone): How to debrand N97

    for me JAF does not work.

    I appreciate some help. thanks

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts