Offline mode
NokiaUsers.net is the premier Nokia Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Offline mode

  1. #1
    Nokia User
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Lowestoft UK
    Posts
    172
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 36 Times in 22 Posts

    Offline mode

    When I first got my N97 I think I was able to press the option key on the home screen and be able to put the applications offline but still be able to use it as a phone to make calls and send/receive texts. Since my firmware installation, this option no longer appears.

    Now when I press options my only choices are:-

    Show open apps.
    Edit content
    Hide content
    Help

    I know I can change my profiles to offline but that then stops all reception including phone signal.
    How do I stop the the Internet connecting but still be able to use the phone especially when I am abroad.

    Regards
    Greigster

  2. Remove Advertisements
    NokiaUsers.net
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Nokia Guru roberth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Barbados/London
    Posts
    1,071
    Thanks
    119
    Thanked 305 Times in 197 Posts
    weird one...im on v11 and my offline mode is still there....
    try to reinstall v11....maybe its just a hic in the software...
    RobertH
    Ovi: RobertH
    Skype: RobertHall22
    FaceBook: Robert Hall

  4. #3
    Dedicated User Mephisteus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Menu -> Settings -> Connectivity -> Destinations -> Internet (provided you're using that group) -> Access Point -> Set "Use access point" to "After confirmation".

    Better yet is to turn on the "in home network only" function in apps that have them. I did this for the email one and it worked without a hitch.

    The option "Content to offline mode" only appears if you have widgets that make use of the internet on their ownsome, like accuweather. The email widget only displays what's already on the phone, so it won't cause that option to appear.

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Mephisteus For This Useful Post:

    greigster (08-04-2009)

  6. Remove Advertisements
    NokiaUsers.net
    Advertisements
     

  7. #4
    Nokia User
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Lowestoft UK
    Posts
    172
    Thanks
    78
    Thanked 36 Times in 22 Posts
    Re-installed firmware but "offline" in options still not showing, but as I have Accuweather widget within the set of 4 widgets as opposed to a whole width of the homepage, perhaps it does not auto-update.

    Just checked and deleted a set of 4 widgets and replaced them with just Accuweather so it takes up a whole line on my screen and now Accuweather updates automatically" Yay " and I now have the "Contents to offline mode" available to me from options in home screen.
    So thanks to Mephisteus for the advice.
    The Accuweather thing has been bugging me for days.

    Great site this.

    Regards
    Greigster

Similar Threads

  1. Use web in offline mode?
    By Dauntless in forum General 95
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-30-2010, 01:10 AM
  2. can't find my homenetwork on offline mode...
    By dk206 in forum Carrier and Connectivity
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-26-2009, 11:22 PM
  3. How do you come online from offline mode?
    By Numanator in forum Carrier and Connectivity
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-16-2008, 05:15 AM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-19-2007, 08:19 PM
  5. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-17-2007, 06:43 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •